About Us

Mission: Chattanooga 2.0 is a community-led movement to write the next chapter in our future by transforming education and workforce opportunities in Hamilton County.

The Two Bold Goals: 

  • To double the percentage of graduates from Hamilton County Public Schools who obtain a postsecondary degree or credential with real market value, from 30% to 60% by 2025.
  • To increase the overall percentage of adults in Hamilton County with a college degree or technical training certificate from 38% today to 75% by 2025.


In addition to the Chattanooga 2.0 Action Teams, other leaders in the 2.0 effort include the Steering Committee and Community Champions.


The Steering Committee includes leaders in the community and in education who provide representation across key stakeholder groups.

Debbie Adams, Chattanooga State Community College

Dr. Steve Angle, The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Val Armstrong, TN American Water

Dr. Rebecca Ashford, Chattanooga State Community College

Jim Barrott, TCAT

Julie Baumgardner, First Things First

Andy Berke, City Mayor

Dr. Carol Berz, Chattanooga City Council

Maura Black Sullivan, City of Chattanooga

Wayne Brown, Hamilton County PTA

Dan Challener, Public Education Foundation

Gail Chuy, East Hamilton Middle High School

Pete Cooper, Retired from Public Education Foundation

Jim Coppinger, Hamilton County Mayor

Rachel Gammon, North Side Neighborhood House

Erin Glenn, East Lake Middle School

Christy Gillenwater, Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce

Steve Highlander, HCDE School Board Member

Lisa Iglesias, Unum Group

Dr. Bryan Johnson, Superintendent Hamilton County Department of Education

Maeghan Jones, Community Foundation

Tim Kelly, Zipflip

Pam Ladd, Partnership for Families, Children and Adults

Alison Lebovitz, The A-List

Jill Levine, Hamilton County Schools

Stacy Lightfoot, Public Education Foundation

Warren Logan, Urban League

Warren Mackey, County Commissioner

Donna McConnico, Signal Centers

Juan Moreno,  Spring Creek Elementary School

Sarah Morgan, The Benwood Foundation

Rene Murley, UTC School of Education

Nancy Patterson, Chattanooga State Community College

Valerie Rutledge, The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Mike Sarvis, Synovus Bank

Lesley Scearce, United Way of Greater Chattanooga

David Sneed, Soddy-Daisy High School

Charles Spencer, Tennessee Valley Authority

David Steele, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Carolyn Tatum, NAACP and State Education Committee member

Tim Tinsley, First Presbyterian Church

Roy Vaughn, BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

Gerald Webb, Speek Webb, Turner and Newkirk

Jeffrey Wilson, New United Missionary Baptist Church

Scott Wilson, Blue Cross Blue Shield


100 Black Men
Anglican Church of the Redeemer
Basilica of Sts Peter and Paul
Bayside Baptist Church
Benwood Foundation
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Brainerd Alumni Association
Bridge City Community Church
Brock Candy Company
Carbon 5
Chambliss Center for Children
Chattanooga 2.0
Chattanooga Area Brain Injury Association
Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce
Chattanooga Autism Center
Chattanooga Church Ministries(Community Kitchen)
Chattanooga City Council
Chattanooga Down Syndrome Society
Chattanooga Futbol Club
Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy – CGLA
Chattanooga Hispanic Church
Chattanooga Housing Authority
Chattanooga Inclusive Ed Working Group
Chattanooga School for the Liberal Arts
Chattanooga State Community College
Child Advocacy Center of Hamilton County
Child Care Resource & Referral Center
City of Chattanooga
Clinica Medicos
Community Foundation of Greater Chattanooga
Congregation B’nai Zion

Cornerstone Behavior Solutions


Creative Discovery Museum
CSC Bank
Downside Up
Dynamic Church
East Chattanooga Improvement, Inc.
Enterprise Center
Epilepsy Foundation of Southeast Tennessee
First Centenary Methodist Church
First Presbyterian Church
First Things First
Footprint Foundation
Girls Inc.
Hamilton County Commission
Hamilton County Department of Education
Hamilton County Education Association
Hamilton County Sheriff’s Department
Hatch’s House of Hope – Austin Hatcher Foundation
Helen Ross McNabb Center
Horizon Hospitality
Inner Peace Church
Jewish Federation Chattanooga
Journey Educational Services
JP Morgan Chase
LaPaz Chattanooga
Lamppost Properties
Latino Faith Community
Lee University College of Education
Life & Business Catalyst
LifeSpring Community Health
Maclellan Foundation, Inc.
McCallie School
Mission Chattanooga
Montessori School
NAACP – Chattanooga
Neighborhood Association
New City Fellowship Church
New United Church
New United Missionary Baptist Church
Noor Academy – Islamic Center Rep.
Our Lady of the Mount Catholic Church
Partnership for Families & Children
Prevent Child Abuse Tennessee
Public Education Foundation (PEF)
Rapid RMS
Read 20-Hamilton County
Red Bank Baptist Church
Scenic City Church
Secondary Missionary Baptist
Signal Centers
Siskin Children’s Institute
Spartan Ventures
Speek, Webb Turner & Newkirk
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church
STEM School Chattanooga
Support & Training for Exceptional Parents – TN
Tech Town
Tennessee American Water Company
Tennessee Aquarium
Tennessee Department of Education
Tennessee PTA
The Well Church
Thompson Engineering
United Way of Greater Chattanooga
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga – College of Education
Urban League of Greater Chattanooga
Women’s Fund of Greater Chattanooga
Youth and Family Development – City of Chattanooga






























2.0’s Community Champions are community and organizational leaders who gather feedback and share findings across the community.

Kelly Arnold, Clinica Medicos

Danna Bailey, EPB

Julie Baumgardner, First Things First

James Boshears, Hamilton County Education Association

Dan Bowers, Artsbuild

Sharon Braden, Thompson Engineering

Mike Bradshaw, CO.LAB

Pat Brock, Brock Candy Company

Krue Brock, Chattanooga Football Club

Monty Bruell, Rapid RMS

Rowland Buck, Burks United Methodist

Carmen Carson, Life & Business Catalyst

Cordell Carter, Tech Town

Eddie Centurion, New City Fellowship

Karlene Claridy, Women’s Fund of Greater Chattanooga

Heather DeGaetano, Causeway

Lakweshia Ewing, Hamilton County Department of Education

Scott Fiedler, TVA

Lisa Flint, Footprint Foundation

Sam Greer, Red Bank Baptist

Lindsey GutierrezIglesia de Dios de la Profecia East Ridge

Yusef Hakeem, City Council

Joyce Hardaway, Public Education Foundation

Ken Hays, Enterprise Center

Lt. Van Hinton, Hamilton County Sheriff’s Dept

Everlena Holmes, Neighborhood Association

Richard Johnson, WTCI-TV

Hamp Johnston, JP Morgan

Ellen Leamon, Tech Town

Bea Lurie, Girls Inc.

Travis Lytle, CSC Bank

Warren Mackey, County Commissioner

Hodgen Mainda, River Branch Strategies

Betsy McCright, Chattanooga Housing Authority

James McKissic, City of Chattanooga

James Moreland, East Chattanooga Improvement, Inc.

Maria Noel, Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce

Emily O’Donnell, Public Education Foundation

Erskine Oglesby, 100 Black Men

Christian Patino, La Paz

Nancy Patterson, Chattanooga State

Miranda Perez, D9

Gail Phillips, Hamilton County PTA Council

Dr. Michele Pickett, Pediatrician

Lori Quillen, Benwood Foundation

Chris Ramsey, Brainerd Alumni Association

Daniel Ryan, Consultant

Henry Schulson, Creative Discovery Museum

Bess Steverson, The McCallie School

Eric Stitts, Bayside Baptist

Scottie Summerlin, Public Education Foundation

Cindy Todd, Tennessee Aquarium

Edna Varner, Public Education Foundation

Justin Wilkins, City of Chattanooga

Elenora Woods, NAACP


The original Chattanooga 2.0 Metrics can be found here: Chatt 2.0 Metrics.

To read the original data report on the state of education in Hamilton County, TN click here: A Bold Vision for our Future Workforce